WPX Hosting is happy to announce our brand-new backup manager UI! This Backup Manager will allow you to take backups of your website at any time and restore them as you see fit.
With our new manual backup feature, you can choose when to create a backup, such as before updating your website or installing a new plugin, and it is conveniently located here, in your Hosting Panel:
From the Backups section of your Dashboard, you can choose the website for which you wish to create a backup or which website to restore, as seen below:
In your Backup Manager, there are 2 types of Backups: User Backups and System Backups.
1. User Backups
User Backups are those created yourself.
Please note that there can be only one manual backup at any given time.
If you have not created a backup yourself, when you select the button Create New Personal Backup (1) you will see the following message:
Select Create New (2) to save a backup of your website (this will backup both the files and database of your website)!
Note: Manually saved Backups will be deleted automatically after 24 hours.
After creating a backup, you will see this message when you select to Restore backup:
If you select Create New (1) again, you will save a new backup that will overwrite the previous one you have made.
You can also choose to Restore (2) or Delete (3) your new backup.
This menu allows you the choice to restore only the files or the database, or both:
2. System Backups
If you wish to restore a backup of your website from a specific date, you can visit the Restore Automatic Backup. To choose from which date (Backup Point) you want to restore, simply select a date from the drop-down calendar(1):
After selecting a date, you will see it in this field (2):
The Backup Information box (2) shows you the exact date and hour when your backup was created. You can also copy your Backup Point ID.
You can also choose whether you wish to restore only the files or the database of your website (3). Keep in mind that both options are selected by default.
Finally, select Run Website Restore Process (4) to restore your website from the Backup Point date of your choice.
After starting a restore, you can monitor its progress with the percentage tracker at the top:
When your backup has been restored, you will see the following message:
The Backup Manager will grant more autonomy over your website and allow you to select specific backups to work from! That said, if you are having difficulty with the Backup Manager, or have questions about backups, please raise a support ticket with us here:
And we'll get back to you asap.
Did you know that WPX Hosting is top rated by it's customers in the Web hosting category, ranked by TrustScore (you can check out all Trustpilot reviews here).
Read more about us and our hosting service in Australia here.
Here you can find details about our Backup Manager and our hosting service in UK.